Amazon.fr & Apple iBookstore

I wanted to share this, but I am a bit behind today, so I’m just going to copy in the email I received:

We are excited to announce Kindle Direct Publishing on Amazon.fr!

If you have distribution rights in France for books you’ve published through Kindle Direct Publishing, they are already available in the new Kindle store on Amazon.fr. The list prices and royalty plans for titles sold on Amazon.fr are based on those you’ve chosen for the Amazon.com store.

In addition to KDP titles becoming available for sale on Amazon.fr, sales made to customers living in France, Belgium, and Monaco will qualify for 70% royalty on titles enrolled in the 70% royalty option.

If you would like to review or change your preferences for each title sold on Amazon.fr, please visit the KDP Bookshelf here: https://kdp.amazon.com/self-publishing/dashboard

Also see our press release here: http://phx.corporate-ir.net/phoenix.zhtml?c=176060&p=irol-newsArticle&ID=1614743&highlight

If you have books in the Amazon KDP program you should have gotten one of these.  Yes, it means there is now an Amazon ebook market in the UK, Germany and France. Personally I haven’t sold any books on Amazon.de yet, so I’m not sure the fr is going to make much of a difference to me, but here’s hoping it does for some of you!

EDIT** and speaking of expanded distribution, Apple’s iBookstore has expanded distribution of Smashwords books to 26 new countries – read all about it on Mark Coker’s blog.

5 thoughts on “Amazon.fr & Apple iBookstore

  1. Cathy Jo October 9, 2011 / 6:43 am

    Is there a direct way that we can market our books/ebooks to the folks in France, Germany, the UK, and any place else Amazon is?

  2. maudestandard October 9, 2011 / 3:23 pm

    I didn’t get this email but read about it in Kindle Forums.
    I’m on Amazon KDP.
    I think it’s great that France is now on board.

  3. victoria October 9, 2011 / 8:23 pm

    I’m excited about this but wouldn’t we need a way to translate our books from English to French (or German for Amazon.de) and how much would that cost, I wonder?

  4. Lauralynn Elliott October 9, 2011 / 9:15 pm

    I got that, too! I guess there are a lot of English speaking in Germany and France. I’ve made a little over $10 in Germany. That’s not a lot compared to what I’ve make in the US and the UK, but, hey, it’s $10. So even if I don’t make much in France, I would be happy to sell something.

Comments are closed.